FAQ’s

Just follow those 4 simple steps and you/re on your way towards becoming a licensed driver! Of course, California driving laws and regulations change from time to time, so be sure to visit your local DMV website for the most up to date and complete information available regarding obtaining your driver’s permit and license. Here’s some useful links you might want to check out:

1I/m 15 years old, can I get my learner/s permit?
Answer: You are eligible to get your learner's permit at the minimum age of 15½ in the State of California. The learner's permit is issued by the DMV upon successfully passing a written test. There are specific things you must do prior to getting your learner's permit. First, enroll and complete a drivers education course. The drivers education course may be completed either online or in a classroom. It is recommended that you complete drivers education prior to reaching the age of 15½ if you would like your drivers license at the age of 16. You will be required to have your learners permit for at least six (6) months prior to getting your drivers license so plan ahead, this is why it is recommended to complete drivers education prior to the age of 15½. We'll explain, if you get your learner's permit one day after reaching 15½ then the minimum age your are eligible to get your drivers license is one day after your sixteenth (16th) birthday. Upon completing drivers education we will issue the student a certificate which needs to be presented to the DMV the day of the written exam. Second, and this is VERY IMPORTANT! You must enroll into a drivers training course. The course must consist of at least six (6) hours of behind the wheel instruction. It is a good idea to enroll into one of the more advanced courses that are offered. Six hours of training is minimal and often insufficient to develop good driving skills. Our 10 hour defensive driving course is the recommended course. Upon enrollment we will issue the student a certificate which needs to be presented to the DMV the day of the written exam. In addition, in order to take your written test you must have a DMV Drivers License Application (Form DL-44) signed by both parents, a $31.00 fee is due at the DMV payable by cash, check, or money order. You need to provide proof of age such as birth certificate or valid passport. You should also bring your Social Security card. These documents must be in their original format and not a photocopy. It is also a good idea to make an appointment at the DMV. You can reach them at 1-800-777-0133 or http://www.dmv.ca.gov. To summarize, the day of your written test have an appointment at the DMV and bring the following: completion of drivers education certificate, enrollment in a drivers training certificate, form DL-44 signed by both parents, $31.00, valid passport or birth certificate stating that you are at least 15½ years old, and your Social Security.
2I/m 18+ years old and want my license what should I do?
Answer: If you've never attempted the written or road test or are having trouble passing the DMV tests we can help. If you have a drivers license from a different state or country our expert staff is here to help. Our driving instructors are specifically trained to assist you and are here to make your instruction an informative and pleasurable experience. We recommend that every new driver attend a defensive driving course to help minimize the risk associated with the dangers of driving. Many adults believe that having a family member teach them how to drive is just fine. Unfortunately, most people develop really bad habits over the years. In most cases they also don't have an intimate knowledge of driving laws and tend to stir a beginner in the wrong direction by misinforming them. Contact our office and a representative will be able to assist you and bring you a step forward towards getting your drivers license with a trained professional. The following are some basic things you need to do in order to get your drivers license. The process begins by first submitting your application (DL-44) and a few other documents in order to take a written test. It is highly recommended that you make an appointment with any of the DMV offices. You can visit the DMV website at http://www.dmv.ca.gov or call 800-777-0133 . Having an appointment at the DMV will expedite your visit. The documents you need are as follows and must be presented in their original format. Photocopied documents will not be accepted. Complete a drivers license application form (Form DL-44). You must have your social security number, your birth date, legal presence, and $31.00 application fee (cash, check, or money order). Your thumb print and picture will be taken and you will need to pass a vision test. Upon submitting all the necessary documents you will be given a written test. The test consists of 36 multiple choice questions and you may take the test 3 times for the same application fee. Every 3 attempts at the written test requires a new application fee. When you successfully pass the written test a learner's permit will be issued to you. This will allow you to practice driving with anyone 18+ years with a California drivers license. In order to finally receive your drivers license you will be required to pass a road test. For this test you are required to make an appointment. You drivers license is issued upon successfully passing the road test.
3I lost my learners permit what should I do?
I lost my learners permit what should I do? Answer: You need to go to the DMV and have a representative provide you a new copy of your permit. You can contact the DMV at 1-800-777-0133 or go to http://www.dmv.ca.gov to find the nearest office to you. You may go to any office and not necessarily the office in which you took your written test. If you are under the age of 18 read the following carefully, it's IMPORTANT. Have the DMV representative indicate on your new learner's permit the issue date of your original learner's permit. Anyone under the age of 18 is required to have a learner's permit for at least 6 months before getting a drivers license. When the DMV reprints a learner's permit the issue date is changed to the day of the reprint. Having the DMV indicate the original issue date will ensure that your driver's license eligibility date remains the same.
4My learners permit expired what should I do?
Answer: You are required to follow the same directions as getting your learner's permit for the first time. Meaning, present to the DMV all necessary documentation, pay the application fee, and pass a written test. It is recommended that you make an appointment first. You can reach the DMV at 800-777-0133 or visit their website at http://www.dmv.ca.gov. If you are under the age of 17½ read the following carefully, IT'S IMPORTANT! When renewing your learner's permit make sure to keep your expired learner's permit, DO NOT THROW IT AWAY. This will prove to the DMV that you've had your learner's permit for at least 6 months. The DMV only maintains a record of the last learner's permit issued and all previous information is erased. Therefore, if you don't keep your expired learner's permit it will appear to the DMV as if you received it on the date of your new learner's permit and you will be required to wait 6 months from that date or reach the age 18+ in order to be eligible for your drivers license.
5I lost my driving school certificates, what should I do?
Answer: Every student will be issued a certificate of completion immediately after the completion of his / her 3rd session of driver training. A $20 administrative fee will be charged for certificate replacement. Contact our main office and speak to a representative and we will get your duplicate certificate out to you or you're welcome to come in a pick one up yourself.
6Do my driving school certificates ever expire?
Answer: Driving school certificates issued to you by us never expire.
1Should I make an appointment to take my written test?
Answer: It is highly recommended you make an appointment to take your written exam however, it's not required. If you would like to make an appointment you may do so by going to the DMV website at http://www.dmv.ca.gov or call at 800-777-0133 .
2Should I make an appointment to take my driving test?
Answer: You are required to have an appointment in order to take your road test, the DMV will not accept you without one. To make an appointment you need to call 800-777-0133 . You can't make a road test appointment on the DMV website.
3Do I need to get a learner/s permit even though I/m 18+ old?
Answer: You are absolutely required to get a learner's permit prior to getting your drivers license, this is accomplished by passing the written test. However, those that are over 18 years old aren't part of the California graduated licensing law and therefore don't have the type of restrictions imposed on those under the age of 18.
4I don/t have a birth certificate, what do I do?
Answer: You need to contact The County Recorders Office of the particular county you were born in. The DMV will also accept a valid passport if getting a birth certificate proves difficult.
5Is the DMV going to ask me to parallel park on my road test?
Answer: Yes, parallel parking is part of your road test however, this will not be between two cars. You will need to park parallel to the curb.
6Is driving the freeway part of the road test?
Answer: No, driving on the freeway is not part of the road test.

1Can I wear sandals to my road test?
Answer: Yes, you may wear sandals for the road test. However, we recommend that you wear sneakers or a similar style shoe, they are ideal for driving.
vivadrivingschool
13
 Photos
33
 Followers
5
 Following
Peacock getting ready to start lesson.🚗🦃This is just one of our many students who pass their #drivingtest with flying colors, this one's at Culver City DMV #gowithviva #drivingschool #woo #studentsLook familiar?? This is the infamous waiting line at the Pasadena DMV... Our hometown DMV 🌟 it may not have the best reputation but it gets the job done when it needs to. 👍🆗Another shot of our classroom as we prepare for tomorrow's Drivers Education class. #excited #learning #kids #driving #school